Amen – Wisdom Wednesday

Communion wafers are part of many religious services. These wafers can be wheat based or gluten-free made with rice flour or potato based flours. Do you know what your communion wafers are made from?

The Roman Catholic Church have strict requirements that their wafers be comprised of wheat and water. Some churches offer low-gluten wafers. If this situation is unsafe for you, wine only may be acceptable for your communion.

Jewish traditions have certain foods such as challah and matzo that must contain wheat, barley, spelt, rye or oats. Oops! The first four items are on the “avoid list”. Challah and matzo may be made from gluten- free oats.

I bring these possible overlooked “hidden” gluten to your attention to bring your concerns to your local religious leaders in order to remain gluten-free.

Stay Entertained and Informed !
Sign up for delivery to your email address !

We respect your privacy. Your information will not be shared! We don’t spam!

close
Stay Entertained and Informed !
Sign up for delivery to your email address !

We respect your privacy. Your information will not be shared! We don’t spam!