Living GF Means – Wednesday Wisdom

You know about eliminating foods containing gluten such as wheat, rye, barley, spelt, Kamut and triticale. Being wheat-free is not the same as being gluten-free. A product may contain other gluten-containing grains. This is why is it so important to still read the labels. Not just the bold print at the end of the ingredient list that lists allergens such as diary, eggs, soy, and wheat. You are now aware that ingredients and gluten-containing grains are used in the both basic ingredients and as additives during the processing or preparation.

Be Aware: Ingredients listed by the manufacturer may not be clarified. For example: Hydrolyzed vegetable protein on an ingredient list may be made from wheat, soy, corn, or a mixture of grains.

Be Aware: Cross-contamination is when gluten-free food comes in contact with foods that do contain gluten. I gave a recent example of this when I discussed getting french fries at a fast food restaurant that is fried in the same oil as their fried foods with flour such as chicken or fish. There are many ways for cross-contamination to happen in homes and restaurants.

Stay Entertained and Informed !
Sign up for delivery to your email address !

We respect your privacy. Your information will not be shared! We don’t spam!

close
Stay Entertained and Informed !
Sign up for delivery to your email address !

We respect your privacy. Your information will not be shared! We don’t spam!