Alcoholic Beverages; GF? – Friday Etcetera

If you’re wondering if you can still enjoy an occasional drink of alcohol, the answer is yes, but you need to pick your cocktail carefully.

Distilled liquors such as brandy, gin, rum, tequila, vodka and whiskey are all gluten-free. This is because the distilling process used in alcohol production concentrates liquids that have first been brewed. Distilled alcohol does not contain any gluten protein even if the beverage is made with wheat, barley or malt. This is because the gluten protein is too large to survive the distillation process. As always, you still need to be careful though that gluten-containing flavorings were not added after production.

Wine is made from fruit and, therefore, is considered gluten-free. However, as with other drinks, be sure to check that additives containing gluten haven’t been added. The same is true for wine coolers and hard ciders.

As discussed earlier in my blog, traditional beers, ales, lagers and other malt beverages do contain gluten. These beverages are made from gluten-containing grains and they are not distilled. Remember in my GF beer blog recently, I mentioned and named (via a link) a number a premium and craft brewers producing gluten-free beers. Some are brewed with gluten-free grains such as buckwheat, sorghum, rice and millet. Others strip out the gluten after processing using special filters and enzymes. Now you can still enjoy a frosty mug or pint. Cheers to that!

Stay Entertained and Informed !
Sign up for delivery to your email address !

We respect your privacy. Your information will not be shared! We don’t spam!

close
Stay Entertained and Informed !
Sign up for delivery to your email address !

We respect your privacy. Your information will not be shared! We don’t spam!