Hidden Sources of Gluten – Wednesday Wisdom

Keep in mind these hidden sources of gluten when shopping for groceries or dining out.

  • Energy bars/granola bars: Read the label prior to purchasing these bars as many contain wheat and/or oats which are not gluten-free.
  • French fries: Cross-contamination from fryers can make otherwise safe french fries risky; so you may want to stick to gluten-free fries prepared at home.
  • Potato chips: Read the label to ensure chips are not made with seasons that might contain malt vinegar or wheat starch.
  • Soups: Cream-based soups typically contain flour as a thickener. Many soups also contain barley.
  • Multi-grain or “artisan” tortilla chips or tortillas: These products may contain a wheat-based ingredient.
  • Salad dressings and marinades: Malt vinegar, soy sauce and flour is often used to create salad dressings and marinades.
  • Eggs: Diner fans know that some diners use pancake batter when cooking scrambled eggs or omelets. Eggs are naturally gluten-free so request your eggs be prepared without additives.
  • Beers/malt beverages: Beers labeled “gluten removed” are NOT gluten-free. Beers, lagers, and malt beverages made from gluten-containing grains are NOT distilled and should be avoided. Only beers labeled “gluten-free” are safe.
Stay Entertained and Informed !
Sign up for delivery to your email address !

We respect your privacy. Your information will not be shared! We don’t spam!

close
Stay Entertained and Informed !
Sign up for delivery to your email address !

We respect your privacy. Your information will not be shared! We don’t spam!